The Fraueninsel - a little world of its own
On the Fraueninsel, art, tradition and nature have been impressively preserved through the more than twelve-hundred-year-old monastery and the "old fishing village". They make the island a gem of Bavarian culture and way of life.
The southern part of the island determines the monastery, the northern part is dominated by the houses of the village and the village green. The fishing village, inhabited by about forty families of fishermen and craftsmen in the past, follows the shores of the northern island with its built-up areas. The residential buildings, usually with protruding flat saddle roofs, usually point the gables towards the lake. The older fishermen's houses, boathouses, jetties and other fishermen's facilities are a good indication of the survival of this industry on the island. Between the houses on the west and east side lead small streets from the banks directly to the village green on the center of the island.
At the highest point of the island (525 m) approximately in the middle, is the Lindenplatz with the "Millennial Tassilolinde" and the war memorial chapel. Until the secularization in 1803, the small parish church of St. Martin, already mentioned under abbess Elsbeth Torer (1391-1399), rose at the same place. During the fairground hassle for the fair of St. Martin it had come in 1393 to a mortal blow.
The front page of 1926 by the last master builder, King Ludwig II of Bavaria, Eugen Drollinger (1858-1930), in ba-
The rocking form of the war memorial chapel decorates a painting by the early Expressionist and Chiemsee painter Hiasl Maier-Erding (1894-1933). It shows an old fisherman couple praying against the backdrop of the Chiemsee with the Fraueninsel. This place is memorial to the fallen of the two world wars.