Nice to see you on our website!

Here you may discover something of the meaning and beauty

of our monastic life ... 


"Die Fraueninsel" The Women’s Island 

The Benedictine abbey of Frauenwörth is situated in a beautiful, unspoiled landscape at the edge of the Bavarian Alps on the Fraueninsel (The Women’s Island) in Lake Chiemsee. 


The Fraueninsel rises up to 8 metres above sea level, has a surface area of 12 hectares and a comfortable walk around the whole shoreline takes only 20 minutes. The island is one of the oldest cultural sites in the Chiemgau.

With just over 50 houses and approximately 250 inhabitants the island is very densely populated and constitutes the smallest administrative district in Bavaria. The monastery covers nearly one third of the island. 


The long and varied history, the landscape, the people of the area, pilgrimages to the Blessed Irmengard and the spiritual community, which is orientated to constancy and self-administration, and have all shaped this marvellous place and give it a special atmosphere and attraction. 

Your daily Scripture reading and hearing ...

Schön, dass Sie uns besuchen!

Entdecken Sie hier etwas vom Sinn und der Schönheit

unseres monastischen Lebens ...

 

Die Fraueninsel

Unsere Abtei liegt inmitten einer ursprünglichen schönen Landschaft des bayerischen Alpenvorlandes auf der Fraueninsel im Chiemsee. Die Fraueninsel ragt bis zu 8 m über dem Seespiegel heraus, ist 12 ha groß und in 20 Minuten auf bequemem Uferweg zu umgehen. Sie zählt zu den ältesten Kulturstätten des Chiemgaus.

 

Mit über 50 Häusern und ca. 250 Einwohnern ist die Fraueninsel heute sehr dicht besiedelt und stellt die kleinste politische Gemeinde in ganz Bayern dar. Etwa ein Drittel der Gesamtfläche bedeckt unser Klosterbereich.

 

Die lange wechselvolle Geschichte, die Landschaft, die Menschen der Umgebung, die auf Beständigkeit und Selbstverwaltung ausgerichtete geistliche Gemeinschaft und die Wallfahrt zur seligen Irmengard - der Schutzpatronin des Chiemgaus - prägen diesen herrlichen Ort und üben weithin eine besondere Ausstrahlung und Anziehungskraft aus.

Ihr Schriftimpuls für den heutigen Tag ...